IALCP Awards

IALCP Awards

The Foundation for Life Care Planning Research established an Awards committee with representation from the FLCPR board, the IALCP board, Virginia Commonwealth University, Georgia State University and The University of Florida. Five categories of award are to be recognized and may be given annual. Most important to understand is in each instance these awards may be given but will not always be given on an annual basis. Only in the instance in which the Awards committee, in its recommendation to the full Board of the FLCPR deems that a deserving individual or research project or paper meets the designated criteria will the award actually be presented. It is the intention of the FLCPR to maintain each of these awards at the highest level of Standards and thereby have associated with each the level of meaning and acceptance, which should become attached to each.

Click here to find the award criteria and nomination form.

1) Outstanding Life Care Planning Educator

Criteria for this award include demonstrated evidence of significant contributions to the dissemination of life care planning knowledge. The candidate should have teaching experience at the university level (but there may be other evidence to supplant this criterion).  It is expected that candidates will demonstrate effective life care planning education through in-person or online classes, conference presentations, publications (peer and non-peer reviewed) and/or other means of disseminating life care planning related knowledge. Community service related to life care planning is also expected.

2021 - Shelene Giles
2020 - Sherry Latham
2018 - Tanya Rutherford-Owen
2016 - Ann T. Neulicht
2015 - Patricia A. Costantini, RN, MEd, LPC, CRC, CCM, CLCP, LNCC, D-ABVE, CNLCP
2014 - Terry Winkler, M.D., CLCP
2013 - Barbara Baptiste, M.Sc., CCRC, CLCP
2012 - Christine A. Reid, Ph.D., CRC, CLCP
2011 - Richard Paul Bonfiglio, MD
2010 - Debra E. Berens, Ph.D., CRC, CCM, CLCP

2) Life Care Planner Life Time Achievement Award

The Life Time achievement is to be given by this committee only when a deserving recipient is found. It is not necessarily to be given annually although it can be awarded annually if it is appropriate to do so. Nominations will not be sought but anyone can submit nominations from outside the committee. The committee can undertake a search for candidates and can look to their respective organizations for insights into appropriate candidates. For the Life Time Achievement Award the Foundation Board would expect the individual to have contributed significantly to the body of literature in Life Care Planning. Additionally there is an expectation that this person would have advanced the field through word and/or deed. By this the individual can be considered based on their work in teaching life care planning, direct work with patients, (applied life care planning), advances in the applications of Life Care Planning or significant improvements in the networking capabilities of Life Care Planners. Any activity that enhances the reliability and validity of the Life Care Planning process and advances not only the process but also the general sub specialty of Life Care Planning can be considered. It is essential that to be considered the potential recipient be known for maintaining the highest personal and professional ethical standards. No actions against their licensure or certifications should be in their backgrounds.

2021 - Ann Neulicht
2019 - Dan Bagwell
2018 - Nancy Mitchell, MA, OTR/L, CLCP, FIALCP
2017 - Terri Sue Patterson
2016 - Cloie B. Johnson
2015 - Christine Reid PH.D., CRC
2014 - Karen Preston, PHN, MS, CRRN, FIALCP
2013 - Debra Berens, Ph.D., CRC, CCM, CLCP
2011 - William R. Goodrich CRC, CCM, CLCP, ABVE-D, NCC, AAPMF
2009 - Terry Winkler, M.D., CLCP
2008 - Julie A. Kitchen CDMS, CCM, CLCP
2007 - Patricia L. McCollom, RN, MS, CRRN, CCM, CDMS, CLCP, FIALCP
2006 - Susan Riddick-Grisham, RN, BA, CCM, CLCP
2005 - Roger O. Weed, PhD, CRC, LPC, CCM/R, CLCP/R, CDMS/R, FNRCA, FIALCP
2004 - Horace W. Sawyer, Ed.D., CRC, CLCP
2003 - Paul M. Deutsch, Ph.D., CRC, CDMS, CCM, LMHC, CLCP